For The People

Namakwa Cluster Elects New Board


SPRINGBOK – Members of Community Policing Forums (CPF) across the cluster of Namakwa in the Northern Cape, were holding an annual general meeting (AGM) last Saturday at the Okiep Country Hotel. The event was opened with a prayer by the newly elected Deputy Secretary of Namakwa Cluster Community Police board Mr Willem Isaacs who asked our heavenly father to be the guiding spirit throughout the proceedings. He was followed by Lieutenant Colonel Johan Brooks, Visible Policing Coordinator at Namakwa Cluster, in welcoming everybody to the event.

The meeting was taking place under a watchful eye of the Northern Cape SAPS Provincial Community Police Board that was represented by Mr Tmenn Tafel (PRO), Marry-ann Matthys (Treasurer) and the Deputy Secretary Christine Cloete. The purpose of these elections was to fill the vacant positions that were left open by some of the members who were elected to the Provincial Board, during elections that took place in September last year in Upington. The event was also graced by the 76-year-old Theresa Hendrieka Cloete affectionately known as “Mama T” amongst the police officials, CPF and communities in Namakwa. She has been part of the CPF structures since from the early years of the democratic government and is still participating in CPF activities in her hometown, Springbok that include patrolling her neighbourhood with the police. In his closing remarks, Mr Tmenn Tafel (PRO) who was also directing the programme did not mince his words when he spoke about what is expected from the incoming committee and members of the CPF in general.

“We must lead by example and defend our police officials with all our might. Ours is to mediate between the community and the police and let them do their work without any interference.” The new office bearers that are mostly comprised of women, were unanimously elected by the 23 CPF structures falling under the Namakwa cluster and their names are Helen Jack (Chairperson), Getrude Beukes (Deputy Chairperson), Carrissa Sauden (Secretary), Willem Isaacs (Deputy Secretary), Johannes Swaartbooi (Treasurer) and Reggie Mokgoko (PRO). They were congratulated by the Provincial Commissioner of the Northern Cape, Lieutenant General Risimati Shivuri who was attending a similar event that was simultaneously held in the John Taolo Gaetsewe Cluster in Kuruman on the same day. The elections for the JTG cluster were however, postponed to a date that will be announced in the near future due to unforeseen circumstances.

Leave A Reply