For The People

Ramaphosa close on appointing new NDPP

President Cyril Ramaphosa’s advisory panel that he appointed to assist him in identifying suitable candidates for the vacant position of National Director of Public Prosecutions (NDPP) has shortlisted 12 candidates who will be interviewed between 14 and 16 November 2018.

The panel is chaired by senior cabinet member, Minister of Energy, Jeff Radebe. The rest of the panel is comprised of members of the legal society. The panel’s terms of reference are to identify potential candidates, establish that they meet the required criteria, conduct interviews with potential candidates, and recommend at least three candidates to the President.

The panel received 22 applications and 24 nominations by the close of business on 2 November 2018 for Shaun Abrahams’ job, which was became vacant after he was removed by the Constitutional Court judgement after it ruled that his appointment by ex-president Jacob Zuma was constitutionally invalid.

According to a statement released by The Presidency, the panel met on the evening of Thursday, 8 November 2018, to draw up a short list of candidates from the applications and nominations received. The panel shortlisted the following contenders:

1. Adv S Batohi
2. Adv G Breytenbach
3. Adv K M Chauke
4. Adv J R De Kock
5. Adv A Johnson
6. Adv M Luphondo
7. Adv M Makhari
8. Adv N Manaka
9. Mr S X Mapoma
10. Adv C S Mlotshwa
11. Adv D M Noko
12. Adv M S Ramaite

The President was ordered by the court to appoint a new NDPP within 90 days after the 13 August 2018 judgement, implying that he has less than a week to confirm his man or woman.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.