For The People

Rassie names squad to take on Australia

Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus has named his 30-man squad ahead of the home leg of the Rugby Championship, and it features Biltzboks star Ruhan Nel. South Africa take on Australia in Port Elizabeth this coming Saturday before playing with New Zealand at Loftus Versfeld a week later. Uncapped Nel is in line to make his Test debut along with Lionel Mapoe – replace injured centre duo Damian de Allende and Lukhanyo Am, who have not been included in the squad which consists of 16 forwards and 14 backs. Also in line to make his first Test appearance in the green and gold in the Erasmus era is Saracens prop Vincent Koch, while Bulls scrumhalf Ivan van Zyl has also been called up, with his Lions counterpart Ross Cronje dropping out of the squad.

Springboks squad vs Wallabies, All Blacks

Forwards: Schalk Brits, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Siya Kolisi (captain), Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, RG Snyman, Marco van Staden, Warren Whiteley.
Backs: Faf de Klerk, Aphiwe Dyantyi, André Esterhuizen, Elton Jantjies, Willie le Roux, Cheslin Kolbe, Jesse Kriel, Lionel Mapoe, Ruhan Nel, Sibusiso Nkosi, Embrose Papier, Handré Pollard, Ivan van Zyl, Damian Willemse.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.