For The People

South African Mens Hockey announce additional players to join squad

Melrick Maddocks
Melrick Maddocks

The South African Hockey Association is pleased to announce a further twelve players that will join the South African Men’s Hockey team. Although they will not form part of the World Cup Squad, they will take part in the training camps and form part of the structure in the period following the FIH Hockey World Cup in India later this year.

With South Africa due to take part in the Open Series Finals, which replaced the World League, in 2019 in a bid to qualify for the Olympic Games, having the group of players together is important for Mark Hopkins and his coaching team to start building the processes towards Tokyo 2020. The twelve will join the already announced 29 players in being part of the larger squad.

There are a handful of players with 5 or less caps including Melrick Maddocks, who went to the African Cup in Egypt last year, Indoor Hockey national Rusten Abrahams, Alex Stewart, Andrew Hobson and Matt de Sousa, who was victorious at both IPT and PHL this year.

Michael Abrahams from Eastern Province earns his first call up and will be joined by Thabang Modise, Mark Chong, Sam Mvimbi and Chris Makaba.

With less than 100 days to go to the 2018 FIH Hockey World Cup the excitement around South African Men’s Hockey will be reaching fever pitch.

(Sports 24 Seven)

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.