For The People

The End of the Race

ANC remains the ruling party nationally

The Independent Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) declared the results officially on Saturday evening, when parties received a breakdown of the calculation of their final seat counts in the National Assembly, National Council of Provinces and each of the nine provincial legislatures.

The ANC won the national majority vote with 57.50%. While they are significantly down from the 62.15% they won in the last election, it is still a solid majority and a strong mandate for Cyril Ramaphosa’s presidency in the sixth democratic parliament.

This was followed by the DA with 20.8% of the vote and the EFF with 10.8% of the vote.

Smaller parties that made waves in the election include the IFP, the Freedom Front Plus, the ACDP and the UDM, all of whom will be returning to parliament this year.

The breakdown of the seats were declared as follows:

National Assembly

ANC: 230, DA: 84, EFF: 44, IFP: 14, FF+: 10, ACDP: 4, NFP: 2, UDM: 2, GOOD: 2, Cope: 2, ATM: 2
AIC: 2, PAC: 1, Al Jama-ah: 1

In the provincial legislative in the Northern Cape the ANC managed to get 18, Democratic Alliance 8, Economic Freedom Front 3 and the Freedom Front Plus received only one chair.

The ANC also just managed a majority win in Gauteng, which was the last province to reach completion of the count, since it is the most populous.

The ANC also won all the provinces except the Western Cape, where it is the official opposition to the DA again.

The DA is the opposition once again in the Northern Cape, Eastern Cape, Free State and Gauteng, while the EFF is yet again the opposition in Limpopo and North West, while taking that role from the DA in Mpumalanga.

The IFP has also regained its status as the official opposition in KwaZulu-Natal, snatching second place from the DA.

The EFF, IFP, Freedom Front Plus and ACDP saw gains, as some voters chose to cast their votes away from their previous favourites.

The election could be considered a good one for the African Transformation Movement (ATM) and Patricia De Lille’s newly established GOOD party, who each secured enough votes to be awarded seats in parliament.

The election has seen both of South Africa’s largest parties losing ground to some smaller parties, with numerous new parties nevertheless making little to no impact. This year, a record of 48 parties contested the national ballot, despite the high cost of doing so, and most of them now have little to nothing to show for it. They will also lose their hefty deposit fees. See more election photo’s on page 04.

Elderly man assisted to vote
Citizens form long voting queue
Zamani Saul – New Northern Cape Premier
Happy EFF members on voting day
Elderly couple assisting each other to vote in the rain

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.