For The People

The squad that carries the hope of a nation

With the Rugby 2019 World Cup Countdown at 17 days to go, the wait is over for South Africa’s rugby fans who were anxious to hear the final Springbok Squad for the Rugby World Cup 2019.

Coach Rassie Erasmus named the South African World Cup squad, the 31-man squad who will carry the hope of the nation as the Springboks launch their seventh assault on the Rugby World Cup title. The rugby fraternity was in dismay when the rugby federation announced that one of the favourites will be will be ruled out for selection, Aphiwe Dyantyi 2018 Rugby World Breakthrough Player of the Year.

Aphiwe tested positive for banned substances, the South African Institute for Drug Free Sport said last Friday. Players like former Springboks skipper Warren Whiteley and Damian Willemse were also not included due to the “bad luck” of injuries. Springbok captain Siya Kolisi has thanked South Africans for their support after hundreds showed up at the OR Tambo International Airport to bid farewell to the team as they departed for the Rugby World Cup in Japan.

South Africa are in pool B at the World Cup with defending champions New Zealand, Canada, Italy and Namibia while Argentina will play England, France, Tonga and the United States in Pool C. The Springboks will begin their campaign against the All Blacks on the 21st September in the International Stadium in Yokohama. Here are the 31 players who will be flying the SA flag during this year’s Rugby World Cup:


Schalk Brits, Lood de Jager, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Siya Kolisi (c), Francois Louw, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Tendai Mtawarira, Franco Mostert, Trevor Nyakane, Kwagga Smith, RG Snyman, Duane Vermeulen


Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Faf de Klerk, Warrick Gelant, Elton Jantjies, Herschel Jantjies, Cheslin Kolbe, Jesse Kriel, Makazole Mapimpi, Sbu Nkosi, Willie le Roux, Handré Pollard,Cobus Reinach, Frans Steyn

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.